Menard Vacuum™

1

What is Menard Vacuum™?

Menard Vacuum™ is used to accelerate consolidation of cohesive, highly compressible soils. The process consists in creating a negative pressure under an airtight membrane laid over the soil, which generates atmospheric pressure on the soil, equivalent to the pressure exerted by a 4 metre embankment.

2

How long does it take to implement the technique?

It generally takes between 1 and 3 months between start of the project and the creation of the Menard VacuumTM negative pressure (the time needed to install the vertical drains, horizontal drains, instrumentation, airtight membrane, trench around the site).

FAQ

What are the advantages of the technique?
This technique can substantially reduce consolidation time thanks to early pre-loading as soon as the system is in place and without risk of ground failure. The isotropic nature of the Menard Vacuum™ load and the “artificial beam” generated by the vacuum between the horizontal drains and the membrane have a strong stabilising effect on the fill.

What surface area is needed to install this technique?
The technique is rarely used on surface areas of less than 10,000 m².

Does Menard Vacuum™ lower the water table?
During the entire pumping operation, the water table is maintained at the level of the horizontal drain network. The process does not lower the water table within or around the worksite. The system pumps only the volume of water expelled by the soil during consolidation settlement and the residual flow necessary to maintain the vacuum.

Some projects' references of...
Menard Vacuum™

Fisherman Island, Port of Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

READ MORE

Jangyoo sewage treatment plant, South Korea

READ MORE

Remediation of the « Stade de France » in Saint-Denis, France

READ MORE

Menard Vacuum™

1

Qu'est-ce que le Menard Vacuum™ ?

Le procédé Menard Vacuum™ est utilisé dans des sols cohésifs très compressibles pour accélérer le processus de consolidation. Le procédé consiste à créer une dépression sous une membrane étanche installé sur le sol, ce qui permet d’appliquer au terrain une contrainte due à la pression atmosphérique, équivalente à la mise en place de 4 m de surcharge.

2

Quelle durée de mise en œuvre ?

Il faut compter en général entre 1 et 3 mois entre la prise de possession de la plateforme et la mise en dépression du Menard Vacuum™ (correspondant au temps nécessaire à la mise en place des drains verticaux, des drains horizontaux, à la pose de l’instrumentation, de la membrane étanche…).

FAQ

Quels sont les avantages de cette technique ?
Il est possible de réduire sensiblement le temps de consolidation grâce à une mise en place du préchargement au plus tôt, dès la mise en route du système, et sans risque de rupture du terrain. La nature isotrope de la charge du Menard Vacuum™ ainsi que la « poutre artificielle » générée par la dépression entre les drains horizontaux et la membrane ont un effet fortement stabilisateur sur les remblais.

Quelle surface pour mettre en place cette technique ?
Il est rare d’étudier des projets dont la surface à traiter est inférieure à 10 000 m².

Le Menard Vacuum™ entraîne-t-il un rabattement de la nappe phréatique ?
Pendant toute la durée du pompage, la nappe phréatique est maintenue au niveau du réseau de drains horizontaux. Le procédé n’engendre donc pas de rabattement de la nappe phréatique ni à l’intérieur, ni autour du chantier. Le volume d’eau pompé par le système correspond uniquement au volume d’eau expulsé du sol par les tassements de consolidation et au débit de fuite résiduel nécessaire pour maintenir la dépression.

Quelques références de projets de
Menard Vacuum™