Soil mixing

1

TECHNIQUE

Soil mixing consists of using specially designed augers or special tools to mechanically mix the soil with an in situ binder. The process simultaneously breaks up the soil without removing it, injects a binder at low pressure and thoroughly mixes the binder with the soil.

2

IMPLEMENTATION

The machine is fitted with single or multiple mixing tools (auger, blades, rotary head) to directly inject binder into the mixing zones. The stabilisation agent is combined with the soil to be treated and robustly mixed by the mixing blades. These parameters are adopted accordingly as a function of soil strength and specifications to be achieved.

3

ADVANTAGES

This technique is used to reduce settlement under structures, increase the load-bearing capacity of the soil, ensure stability (including reduced liquefaction), reduce thrust behind retaining structures, block ground water, increase lateral reaction around foundation piles, etc. The technique can be used to create a wide variety of treatment geometries (isolated elements, grids, walls, cells, blocks) and can therefore be easily adapted to a wide range of structures and applications.

FAQ

For large surface areas requiring treatment; what method should I use?
A wide variety of tools is available to choose from, depending on the application. For this type of application, you could for example use cutting tools to rapidly build wall or cell systems.

Is the binder injected always in liquid form?
No, there are solutions in which the binder can be injected either as a liquid slurry, by means of a pump (wet technique) or as a powder (dry technique). The dry material is injected into the ground by means of compressed air. The water in the ground is used to generate hydration and concrete setting.

Some projects' references of...
Soil mixing

Stabilization of polluted soil, Voiron, France

READ MORE

Plume treatment with Permeable Reactive Barrier, France

READ MORE

Saigon Offshore Fabrication Engineering, Vietnam

READ MORE

Annacis Island wastewater treatment plant, Canada

READ MORE

Soil mixing

1

LA TECHNIQUE

Elle consiste à mélanger mécaniquement in situ, au moyen de tarières ou d’outils spéciaux, le sol à un liant par un procédé permettant simultanément la désagrégation du sol sans extraction, l’injection du liant à basse pression et le mélange (malaxage) intime du liant avec le terrain.

2

MISE EN ŒUVRE

La machine est équipée d’un assemblage d’outils de malaxage (tarière, lames, tête rotative) simples ou multiples permettant une injection directe du liant au niveau des zones de malaxage. L’agent de stabilisation est incorporé au sol à traiter et mélangé de force par les pales de malaxage.

3

AVANTAGES

Cette technique permet de réduire les tassements sous les ouvrages, d’augmenter la capacité portante du sol, d’en assurer la stabilité (y compris vis-à-vis de la liquéfaction), de réduire les poussées derrière les ouvrages de soutènement, de bloquer les eaux souterraines, d’augmenter la réaction latérale autour de pieux de fondation… La technique permet la création de géométries de traitement très variées (éléments isolés, maillages, parois, alvéoles, blocs) qui s’adaptent donc facilement à un grand type d’ouvrage et d’applications.

FAQ

Pour de grandes surfaces à traiter, quelle méthode de mise en œuvre utiliser ?
Un grand nombre d’outils sont disponibles en fonction des applications. Pour ce type d’application, on pourra par exemple utiliser des outils trancheurs permettant la réalisation très rapide de systèmes de parois ou d’alvéoles.

Injecte-t-on toujours le liant sous forme liquide ?
Non, il existe des solutions pour injecter le liant aussi bien sous forme d’un coulis liquide au moyen d’une pompe (voie humide), que sous la forme de matériaux pulvérulents (voie sèche). Le matériau sec est alors injecté dans le terrain à l’aide d’air comprimé. Dans ce cas, c’est l’eau du sol qui est utilisée pour engendrer l’hydratation et la prise du béton de sol.

Quelques références de projets de
Soil mixing

Traitement d’un panache de chrome et chlorés par BPR à filtres amovibles, France

EN SAVOIR PLUS

Station de traitement des eaux usées d’Annacis Island, Canada

EN SAVOIR PLUS